Black Sox, Albany Twilight League Champions

The Fellowcrafts Studios, Albany, NY
Date: 1937
Photographer: The Fellowcrafts Studios, Albany, NY
Medium: Gelatin silver photographic print
Dimensions: 6 H x 9 3/4 W (print)
Printed on mat, bottom right: The Fellowcrafts/Studios/Albany, N.Y.
Inscribed in black ink on reverse: Albany Black Sox Champions/Albany Twilight League/1937
Credit: Albany Institute of History & Art Purchase
Digital Data Number: DI 602
Catalogue Number: MG 9.1.11
The 1937 Black Sox Team:
(Top row, left to right) Dave Ryan, "Scrappy" Brown, "Sleepy" Garvin, "Tappen" Smith, Jim Albea, Charlie Martin, Oscar Perry, Robert Dorsey, "Crutch" Holloway, unidentified man.
(Bottom row, left to right) Preacher, Jimmy "Lefty" Hill, Charlie Pelham, Warren Parker, Bat boy, "Keg" William.
In 1937, the Black Sox were the first African American team to join the Twilight League. The also won the league championship that same year.
Jimmy "Lefty" Hill played in the Albany Twilight League on the Black Sox team from 1937 to 1938. He then played for the Newark Eagles from 1939 to 1945. Jimmy Hill was a Major League pitcher in the Negro National League.
Over the years, several Black Sox team members received recognition: Bob Haith was the first Black Sox player to win the MVP (Most Valuable Player) Trophy in 1957; Sam Davidson won the Pitching Trophy in 1938; Alfonso Marto won the Batting Title in 1938 with an average of .377; Manny Ned won the Batting Title in 1955 with an average of .489.
The Black Sox team, under various sponsor names, continued playing in the Albany Twilight League into the late 1950s or early 1960s.
Commentary provided by Dick Barrett, Albany Twilight League Historian.