Gallery Talks

On Saturdays and Sundays From September-May and select holidays we offer gallery talks led by volunteer docents.* These tours take place at 1PM and are included with museum admission.

Please also look for special gallery talks by museum curators, educators, and artists whose work is on view.

*Tour schedule is subject to change without notice. Please call ahead to confirm.

Gallery Talks & Lectures

Junior Interpreter Tours

General: Saturday, January 5 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, January 12 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, January 19 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, January 26 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, February 2 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, February 9 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, February 16 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, February 23 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, March 2 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, March 9 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, March 16 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, March 23 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, March 30 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, April 6 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, April 13 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, April 20 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, April 27 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, May 4 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, May 11 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, May 18 • 10:00am - 12:00pm General: Saturday, May 25 • 10:00am - 12:00pm

Enjoy a family-friendly tour of the exhibitions led by the museum’s Junior Interpreters.

Tours begin in the exhibition gallery, which are located on the third floor of the museum galleries, and are held from 10AM-12PM each Saturday.

 

Included with museum admission

 

 

tl_files/photos/assorted/att_globe_rgb_pos (2).png 

This program is powered by AT&T

Free Admission Day: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (2019)

Monday, January 21 • 10:00am - 5:00pm

Enjoy free admission to the galleries courtesy of M&T Bank!

10AM-4:30PM: Join us in the art studio to create twisting turning 3-D line art out of paper.

 

 

Museum After Dark (MAD) Tour: Things That Bling

General: Friday, February 1 • 6:00pm - 7:00pm

MAD tours are exclusive themed programs that are both engaging and entertaining.

In this tour we will highlight the Things that Bling in the museum; sparkling silver, glittering gold, shimmering stones, and much more! The tour will include activities, little known stories about our collections, and mind-blowing facts!

  • $10 members, $12 non-members. Space is limited and registration is required.

 

IMAGE: Garnet necklace, retailed by James Mix, Jr., Albany, New York, c. 1870-1880, garnets, gold, gift of Susan Yager Cook, 2008.24.1.5

Free Admission Day: Presidents' Day (2019)

Monday, February 18 • 10:00am - 5:00pm

Enjoy free admission to the galleries courtesy of M&T Bank!

10AM-4:30PM: Visit the art studio to pay homage to George Washington as we create images of Washington inspired by a special cast iron stove on view in the exhibition Heavy Metal: Cast Iron Stoves of the Capital Region.